Biochemical Journal - Electronic submission and Peer Review Biochemical Society
HomeSearchFeedbackLinksJoin the Society
MeetingsMembershipPolicy ActivitiesProfessional ActivitiesEducationThe SocietyContacts


































Council Members as at 10 February 2003

*Executive Committee

Professor B M Austen (Brian)
St George's Hospital Medical School
Dept. of Medical Sciences (Surgery)
Cranmer Terrace
London SW17 0RE

tel: 020 8725 5651
fax: 020 8725 3594
email: sghk200@sghms.ac.uk

Chair Protein and Peptide Science Group
*Professor R B Beechey (Brian)
University of Liverpool
The Physiological Laboratory
P O Box 147, Crown Street
Liverpool L69 3BX

tel: 0151 794 5328
fax: 0151 794 5337
email: rbeechey@liv.ac.uk

Honorary Meetings Secretary
*Professor P Downes (Peter)
School of Life Sciences
MSI/WTB Complex
University of Dundee, Dow Street
Dundee DD1 5EH

tel: 01382 344 880
fax: 01382 201 063
email: c.p.downes@dundee.ac.uk

Chairman of the Society
Dr I Dransfield (Ian)
University of Edinburgh Medical School
Rayne Lab
Teviot Place
Edinburgh EH8 9AG

tel: 0131 650 6948
fax: 0131 650 4384
email: i.dransfield@ed.ac.uk

Chair Biochemical Immunology Group
Dr A Entwistle (Alan)
Ludwig Inst.for Cancer Res.
Courtauld Building
91 Riding House Street
London W1W 7BS

tel: 020 78 784040
fax: 020 78 784012
email: alane@ludwig.ucl.ac.uk

Chair Techniques Group
Dr M J Gait (Mike)
MRC - Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Medical Research Council
Hills Road
Cambridge CB2 2QH

tel: 01223 248 011
fax: 01223 402 070
email: mgait@mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk

Chair Nucleic Acids & Molecular Biology Group
Professor M E Grant (Mike)
School of Biological Sciences
2.205 Stopford Building
University, Oxford Road
Manchester M13 9PT

tel: 0161 275 5074
fax: 0161 275 5752
email: michael.grant@man.ac.uk

Council Member
Dr M J Hills (Matthew)
John Innes Centre
Norwich Research Park
Colney Lane
Norwich NR4 7UJ

tel: 01603 450 574
fax: 01603 450 014
email: matthew.hills@bbsrc.ac.uk

Chair Lipid Group
Dr S Howell (Steve)
Unipath Ltd
Priory Business Park
Bedford MK44 3UP

tel: 01234 222 035
fax: 01234 222 344
email: steve.howell@unipath.com

Chair Industrial Biochemistry & Biotech Group
Professor R F Irvine (Robin)
Department of Pharmacology
University of Cambridge
Tennis Court Road
Cambridge CB2 1QJ

tel: 01223 339 683
fax: 01223 334 040
email: rfi20@cam.ac.uk

Chair Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology Group
*Professor C J Leaver (Chris)
Department of Plant Sciences
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3RB

tel: 01 865 275 143
fax: 01 865 275 144
email: chris.leaver@plants.ox.ac.uk

Vice-Chair of the Society
Professor A G Lee (Anthony)
Department of Biochemistry
Med. & Biological Sci. Bldg.
University of Southampton
Southampton SO16 7PX

tel: 02380 594 331
fax: 01 865 275 144
email: a.g.lee@soton.ac.uk

Chair Membrane Group
Dr I J McEwan (Iain)
Dept. Molecular & Cell Biology
Institute of Medical Sciences
University of Aberdeen, Foresterhill
Aberdeen AB25 2ZD

tel: 01224 273 107
fax: 01224 273 144
email: iain.mcewan@abdn.ac.uk

Chair Hormone Group
Dr R A McIlhinney (Jeff)
MRC Anatomical Neuropharmacology Gp.
Department of Pharmacology
Univ.Oxford, Mansfield Road
Oxford OX1 3TH

tel: 01865 271 896
fax: 01865 271 647
email: jeff.mcilhinney@pharm.ox.ac.uk

Chair Neuroscience Group
Professor A L Moore (Tony)
Biochemistry Laboratory
Biology Building
University of Sussex, Falmer
Brighton BN1 9QG

tel: 01273 678 479
fax: 01273 678 433
email: a.l.moore@sussex.ac.uk

Chair Bioenergetics Group
Professor I A Nieduszynski (Ian)
University of Lancaster
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Bailrigg LA1 4YQ

tel: 01524 592160
fax: 01524 843854
email: i.nieduszynski@lancaster.ac.uk

Chair Glycobiology Group
Dr C O'Neill (Cora)
Department of Biochemistry
University College
Lee Maltings
Cork
Ireland

tel: 00 353 214 904 122
fax: 00 353 214 274 034
email: c.oneill@ucc.ie

Chair Irish Area Section
*Professor P J Parker (Peter)
Protein Phosphorylation Laboratory
Cancer Research UK London Institute
44 Lincoln's Inn Fields
London WC2A 3PX

tel: 020 7269 3513
fax: 020 7269 3094
email: peter.parker@cancer.org.uk

Chair, Biochemical Journal Ed. Board
Professor N S Scrutton (Nigel)
Department of Biochemistry
University of Leicester
Adrian Bldg, University Road
Leicester LE1 7RH

tel: 0116 223 1337
fax: 0116 252 3369
email: nss4@le.ac.uk

Chair Molecular Enzymology Group
Dr T S Sihra (Talvinder)
Department of Pharmacology
Medawar Building
Univ. College London, Gower Street
London WC1E 6BT

tel: 020 7679 3296
fax: 020 7813 2808
email: t.sihra@ucl.ac.uk

Council Member
*Dr C J Skidmore (Chris)
Sch.of Animal & Microbial Sciences
University of Reading
P.O. Box 228, Whiteknights
Reading RG6 6AJ

tel: 0118 378 8012
fax: 0118 378 6671
email: c.j.skidmore@reading.ac.uk

Hon Sec Policy, Educ. & Prof. Affairs
Chair Policy Committee
*Professor P G Stockley (Peter)
University of Leeds
Astbury Ctr. for Structural Molec. Biol.
Faculty of Biological Sciences
Leeds LS2 9JT

tel: 0113 233 3092
fax: 0113 233 2835
email: stockley@bmb.leeds.ac.uk

Council Member
Council Representitive on Executive
*Professor J O Thomas (Jean)
Department of Biochemistry
University of Cambridge
80 Tennis Court Road
Cambridge CB2 1GA

tel: 01 223 333 670
fax: 01 223 333 743
email: jot1@bioc.cam.ac.uk

President
Dr M A Titheradge (Mike)
School of Biological Sciences
Department of Biochemistry
University of Sussex, Falmer
Brighton BN1 9QG

tel: 01273 678 742 / 606 755
fax: 01273 678 433
email: m.a.titheradge@sussex.ac.uk

Chair Regulation in Metabolism Group
*Professor I P Trayer (Ian)
The University of Birmingham
School of Biosciences
Edgbaston
Birmingham B15 2TT

tel: 0121 414 5401
fax: 0121 414 2597
email: i.p.trayer@bham.ac.uk

Honorary Treasurer
*Professor A J Turner (Tony)
University of Leeds
School of Biochemistry &
Molecular Biology
Leeds LS2 9JT

tel: 0113 343 3131
fax: 0113 242 3187
email: a.j.turner@leeds.ac.uk

Chair Portland Press Ltd
Professor E J Wood (Ed)
Sch. Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
University of Leeds
Leeds LS2 9JT

tel: 0113 233 3111
fax: 0113 233 3167
email: e.j.wood@leeds.ac.uk

Chair Education Group
Professor S J Yeaman (Steve)
Sch.of Biochemistry & Genetics
The Medical School
University of Newcastle
Newcastle upon NE2 4HH

tel: 0191 222 7433
fax: 0113 233 3167
email: s.j.yeaman@ncl.ac.uk

Council Member



Biochemical Society/Portland Press
59 Portland Place
London
W1B 1QW
United Kingdom

Biochemical Society Membership Office
Portland Customer Services
Commerce Way
Whitehall Industrial Estate
Colchester
Essex
CO2 8HP
United Kingdom
Administration:
Tel: 020 7580 5530 - Fax: 020 7637 3626
E-mail: genadmin@biochemistry.org

Editorial:
Tel: 020 7637 5873 - Fax: 020 7323 1136
E-mail: editorial@portlandpress.com

Meetings:
Tel: 020 7580 3481 - Fax: 020 7637 7626
E-mail: meetings@biochemsoc.org.uk

Membership:
Tel: 01206 796 351 - Fax: 01206 799 331
E-mail: Membership@Biochemistry.org