Biochemical Journal - Electronic submission and Peer Review Biochemical Society
HomeSearchFeedbackLinksJoin the Society
MeetingsMembershipPolicy ActivitiesProfessional ActivitiesEducationThe SocietyContacts

Industrial Biochemistry and Biotechnology Group

Mission Statement

The Industrial Biochemistry and Biotechnology Group of The Biochemical Society exists to champion the professional interests of "industrial" biochemists, the more applied aspects of biochemistry, and the various elements of biotechnology.

We are concerned to enhance the awareness of Industry's many biochemical needs amongst academics and to maintain commercial, biochemical capabilities at the forefront of current knowledge and expertise by fostering communication between biochemists and biotechnologists at national and international levels.

The Heatley Medal

The Heatley Medal of the IBBG was established in 1994. The criteria for its award are mainly concerned with achievements within industry. As originally envisaged, the recipient was to have developed a product or process that has been applied to biochemistry or biotechnology in such a way as to have a major impact on the general public or the scientific community. However, it quickly became clear that the IBBG committee had a consensus view of the "spirit" of the Heatly Medal which was significantly wider than that defined by the original criteria. Thus, we concluded that, while the original criteria should stand, we should add additional criteria to extend the scope of the award. The additional criteria are as follows.

The Industrial Biochemistry and Biotechnology Group (IBBG) of The Biochemical Society in London awards (from time to time) the Heatly Medal for exceptional work that makes biochemistry widely accessible and usable, or for achievements which have enabled widespread progress and understanding in the fields of biochemistry and biotechnology.

Such achievements may include the invention and/or development a biochemical or biotechnological technique or method that becomes widely used and cited in research or production. They may also include the writing of a book that has a strong positive impact, or teaching/training, or the production of material (including software and Internet material) that enables progress and understanding in biochemistry or biotechnology.

Nominations for the award of a Heatly Medal may be made by anyone, regardless of their affiliation with the IBBG or The Biochemical Society. Nominations may be made to any member of the organising committee of the IBBG, who have the right and responsibility to judge the nominations and make awards. The committee will make their decision in the light of the quality of the nomination and their awareness of the impact made by the nominee.

Committee members

Dr. Steve Howell
Unilever Research
Colworth House, Sharnbrook MK44 1LQ
Tel: 01234-222035; Fax: 01234-222552
Dr. Clare Mills
Institute of Food Research, Norwich Research Park
Colney, Norwich, NR4 7UA
Tel: 01603-255000; Fax: 01603-507723
Email: Clare.Mills@BBSRC.AC.UK
Dr. Diane Kelly
University College of Wales,
Aberystwyth, SY23 3DA
Tel: 01970-621515
Prof. Peter Shewry Long Ashton Research Station,
Long Ashton, Bristol, BS18 9AF
Tel: 01275-392181; Fax: 01275-549348
Email: Peter.Shewry@BBSRC.AC.UK
Dr. A Wiseman Department of Biological Sciences, University of Surrey
Guildford, Surrey, GU2 5XH
Tel: 01483-300-800
Dr. Robert Woodward Glaxo Welcome R&D,
Gunnels Wood Road, Stevenage, SG1 2NY
Tel: 01438-768222
Dr. Alan G. Clark Department of Pharmacology, Organon Laboratories Ltd
Newhouse, Lanarkshire, ML1 5SH
Tel: 01698 736000; Fax: 01698 736336
Dr. Helen Brown CCFRA
Chipping Campden, GL55 6LD
Tel: 01386 842016; Fax: 01386 842100
Prof. Wolfgang Schuch Syngenta
John Innes Centre, Norwich Research Park
Colney, Norwich, NR4 7UA
Tel: 01603-252600; Fax: 01603- 252699

Future meetings

Biochemical Society/Portland Press
59 Portland Place
United Kingdom

Biochemical Society Membership Office
Portland Customer Services
Commerce Way
Whitehall Industrial Estate
United Kingdom
Tel: 020 7580 5530 - Fax: 020 7637 3626

Tel: 020 7637 5873 - Fax: 020 7323 1136

Tel: 020 7580 3481 - Fax: 020 7637 7626

Tel: 01206 796 351 - Fax: 01206 799 331