Biochemical Journal - Electronic submission and Peer Review Biochemical Society
HomeSearchFeedbackLinksJoin the Society
MeetingsMembershipPolicy ActivitiesProfessional ActivitiesEducationThe SocietyContacts


































The Molecular Enzymology Group

The Molecular Enzymology Group was the first interest group to be founded within the Biochemical Society. It was founded in 1964 and held its first meeting at University College London in 1965 on the subject of "The interaction of myosin with adenosine triphosphate and actin." The founding chairman was B.R. Rabin and the founding secretary A.P. Mathias. The group continues to represent broad interest in the general area of enzymology and plays a major role in organizing society symposia across diverse areas of enzymological research and education. The subjects of symposia to be held at Society meetings in the near future are given below.

Committee Members

Nigel Scrutton
(Chair)

University of Leicester
nss4@leicester.ac.uk
http://www.le.ac. uk:80/biochem/staff/nss4/nss4.html

Alan Berry
(Secretary and Treasurer)

University of Leeds
A.Berry@leeds.ac.uk

Rona Ramsay

University of St.Andrews
rrr@st-and.ac.uk
http://www-sbms.st-and.ac.uk/staff/ramsay.html

Tony Wilkinson

University of York
ajw@yorvic.york.ac.uk
www.york.ac.uk/depts/chem/staff/ajw.html

Alan Berry

University of Leeds
a.berry@leeds.ac.uk
http://bmbsgi10.leeds.ac.uk/index.html

Richard Bethell

Glaxo Wellcome
RB5577@GGR.co.uk

David Sheehan

University College, Cork
d.sheehan@ucc.ie

Alastair Aitken

University of Edinburgh
Alastair.Aitken@ed.ac.uk

Gary Williamson

BBSRC
Gary.Williamson@bbsrc.ac.uk

S.K. Chapman

Department of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh
s.k.chapman@ed.ac.uk




Biochemical Society/Portland Press
59 Portland Place
London
W1B 1QW
United Kingdom

Biochemical Society Membership Office
Portland Customer Services
Commerce Way
Whitehall Industrial Estate
Colchester
Essex
CO2 8HP
United Kingdom
Administration:
Tel: 020 7580 5530 - Fax: 020 7637 3626
E-mail: genadmin@biochemistry.org

Editorial:
Tel: 020 7637 5873 - Fax: 020 7323 1136
E-mail: editorial@portlandpress.com

Meetings:
Tel: 020 7580 3481 - Fax: 020 7637 7626
E-mail: meetings@biochemsoc.org.uk

Membership:
Tel: 01206 796 351 - Fax: 01206 799 331
E-mail: Membership@Biochemistry.org