Biochemical Journal - Electronic submission and Peer Review Biochemical Society
HomeSearchFeedbackLinksJoin the Society
MeetingsMembershipPolicy ActivitiesProfessional ActivitiesEducationThe SocietyContacts


































The Membrane Group

The Membrane Group exists to organise meetings on themes concerning the structure, function and biosynthesis of animal, plant and bacterial membranes. This area must span membrane proteins, lipids and carbohydrates, so that there is an inevitable overlap with the subject areas of other Groups (for example, Protein & Peptide Science, Lipid, Regulation in Metabolism, Hormone, and so on) and this is reflected in the relatively large number of joint meetings we hold.

Because of the fundamental role which membranes have in cell physiology, we also arrange joint meetings with other Societies, such as the Physiological Society or the British Society for Cell Biology where our interests overlap.

The Membrane Group has no formal membership or mailing list since news of future meetings will normally be published in The Biochemist. We hope, however, to build up a list of e-mail addresses of interested members who would like to receive more detailed information about our activities or to make nominations to the Committee.

Forthcoming meetings to be organised by the Membrane Group

Committee Members

Tony Lee
(Chair)
University of Southampton
a.g.lee@soton.ac.uk
David Phoenix
(Secretary)
Department of Applied Biology, University of Central Lancashire
Tel: 01772 893519; Fax: 01772 892929
Shamshad Cockcroft University College London
s.cockcroft@ucl.ac.uk
http://www.physiol.ucl.ac.uk/wwwphysiol/research/cockcroft.html
Peter Henderson University of Leeds
P.J.F.Henderson@leeds.ac.uk
http://www.bmb.leeds.ac.uk/staff/henderso.htm
Nigel Hooper University of Leeds
N.M.Hooper@bmb.leeds.ac.uk
http://www.bmb.leeds.ac.uk/staff/nmh/
Geoff Holman University of Bath
bssgdh@bath.ac.uk
http://www.bath.ac.uk/Departments/Biosciweb/holman.htm
Steve High University of Manchester
SHIGH@fs1.scg.man.ac.uk
http://mbisg2.sbc.man.ac.uk/ugrad/personel.html#HIGH
Bob Ford UMIST
r.ford@umist.ac.uk
http://www.bi.umist.ac.uk/staff/StaffInfo.asp?field=code&value=RCF



Biochemical Society/Portland Press
59 Portland Place
London
W1B 1QW
United Kingdom

Biochemical Society Membership Office
Portland Customer Services
Commerce Way
Whitehall Industrial Estate
Colchester
Essex
CO2 8HP
United Kingdom
Administration:
Tel: 020 7580 5530 - Fax: 020 7637 3626
E-mail: genadmin@biochemistry.org

Editorial:
Tel: 020 7637 5873 - Fax: 020 7323 1136
E-mail: editorial@portlandpress.com

Meetings:
Tel: 020 7580 3481 - Fax: 020 7637 7626
E-mail: meetings@biochemsoc.org.uk

Membership:
Tel: 01206 796 351 - Fax: 01206 799 331
E-mail: Membership@Biochemistry.org