Subcellular location of PKCalphaII-GFP (green) in Green Monkey COS-7 cells using laser scanning confocal microscopy two days after transfection. The actin cytoskeleton is stained with Texas Red-phalloidin and the endoplasmic reticulum (purple) identified with an antibody to calreticulin.   By Lorene Langeberg, Scott Lab Manager at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Portland, OR.
home governance membership meetings get involved education policy publications links contact us

Meetings Board

The Meetings Board ensures the Society’s communication of the science of biochemistry by means of a programme of meetings through each year. It identifies topics and organizers for inclusion in the Meetings programme and approves Meeting proposals generated from members of the Board, Theme Panels, IT Supported Groups and the membership at large. It continuously reviews the coverage, composition (e.g. balance of gender, young scientists, industrial input) and interdisciplinary coherence of the Theme Panels.

Members of the Meetings Board are drawn from representatives from the seven Theme Panels, the Portland Press board and the Executive Committee.

Members

Chair:
Professor Ian Dransfield, Honorary Meetings Secretary (Edinburgh, United Kingdom)
E-mail: i.dransfield@ed.ac.uk
Committee:
Professor David J Richardson, Honorary Editor, BST (Norwich, United Kingdom)
E-mail: d.richardson@uea.ac.uk
Professor Mark Wheatley, Council Representative on Executive (Birmingham, United Kingdom)
E-mail: m.wheatley@bham.ac.uk
Professor Mark Wheatley, Meetings Committee Representative (Birmingham, United Kingdom)
E-mail: m.wheatley@bham.ac.uk
Professor Neil John Bulleid, Meetings Committee Representative (Manchester, United Kingdom)
E-mail: Neil.Bulleid@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Stefan G E Roberts, Chair Theme Panel I Genes (Manchester, United Kingdom)
E-mail: Stefan.Roberts@manchester.ac.uk
Professor Gordon Roberts, Chair Theme Panel II Molecular Structure and Function (Leicester, United Kingdom)
E-mail: gcr@le.ac.uk
Dr Michael R Jones, Chair Theme Panel III Bioenergetics and Metabolism (Bristol, United Kingdom)
E-mail: m.r.jones@bristol.ac.uk
Dr Harry Mellor, Chair Theme Panel IV Cell Biology (Bristol, United Kingdom)
E-mail: h.mellor@bris.ac.uk
Professor Melanie J Welham, Chair Theme Panel V Signal Transduction (Bath, United Kingdom)
E-mail: prsmjw@bath.ac.uk
Dr Darcey Black, Chair Theme Panel VI Biotechnology and Bioinformatics (Lanarkshire, United Kingdom)
E-mail: d.black@organon.co.uk
Dr Heather M Wallace, Chair Theme Panel VII Development and Disease (Aberdeen, United Kingdom)
E-mail: h.m.wallace@abdn.ac.uk

Meetings Board meeting dates and deadlines

The Meetings Board meet three times per year in February, June and October. For more information, please refer to the Deadlines for submission of Focused Meeting proposals.


Biochemical Society/Portland Press
Third Floor
Eagle House
16 Procter Street
London
WC1V 6NX
United Kingdom
Map

Biochemical Society
Registered Company Number 892796
limited by guarantee
VAT No. GB 523 2392 69
Registered Charity Number 253894

Portland Press Ltd
Registered Company Number 2453983
Vat No GB 523 2392 69

Biochemical Society Membership Office
Portland Customer Services
Commerce Way
Whitehall Industrial Estate
Colchester
Essex
CO2 8HP
United Kingdom
Map
Administration:
Tel: 020 7280-4100 - Fax: 020 7280-4170
E-mail: genadmin@biochemistry.org

Editorial:
Tel: 020 7280-4110 - Fax: 020 7280-4169
E-mail: editorial@portlandpress.com

Meetings:
Tel: 020 7280-4150 - Fax: 020 7280-4167
E-mail: meetings@biochemistry.org

Membership:
Tel: 01206 796 351 - Fax: 01206 799 331
E-mail: Membership@Biochemistry.org

Customer services:
Tel: 01206 796 351 - Fax: 01206 799 331
E-mail: sales@portland-services.com

Read our Privacy Policy

Quick search
Search Tips

Theme panels
IT supported groups
Key words
Get involved
Meetings and events
Submit a meeting proposal
Join the society